Showing posts with label hair. Show all posts
Showing posts with label hair. Show all posts

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Grey hair?

Dylan Photo bombed my hair photo. My friend Amber wanted to see the "after" picture of my highlights. Last night, I went to my friend Sarah's house. She used to rent a space in a salon but now does hair at her house. I went a little before 9pm last night. She cut my hair first then she did the highlighting and lowlighting. I told her that i had not used enough developer the last time so my hair was more orange or not really lighter. It was blended though. I do not get a chance to highlight it that often so it was okay. I told her that I had found a patch if some grey hairs about a month ago. Devastating. I plucked the first couple that I found. But there were more.
So she told me she would highlight me so the highlights and grey would blend so I did not need to worry about grey. Cool. I said "make me look pretty." I had planned I'm going to pick up some diapers for Julia on the way home. I had not planned on leaving the foils in but instead of waiting a half hour at her house and rinsing it out, she said I could go home, wait 10 minutes, and rinse it out myself. I left, but still had to get diapers. I felt silly, but figured I could run into a CVS and explain myself to the one clerk that would be in the store that late. But all the CVS's and Walgreens stores were closed. A neighborhood Walmart was open. I sat in the car and thought about it. I could not believe I was going to go into a store like this. But, it was Walmart. I figured I might blend in with the people of Walmart. When I went in, nobody even looked up and looked at me funny; like I was normal. I had a huge grin and was expecting to get some smarts back but nobody really thought anything of it. It was Dr brayer's birthday the next day, so I picked out a greeting card for our staff to all sign too because I knew I would not get up early. When I got home, Steven told me I was going to end up on some website. I probably will since I did #peopleofWalmart on Instagram. 

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Wednesday evening

We ate at Cracker Barrel.
The kids wanted everything in the store, naturally. Tyler had to put his sock monkeys away twice: before and after dinner. He ran away smiling trying to hide, but ultimately gave kisses and re-shelved them himself. 

We swam in the pool, scaring away other patrons.

We hung out after baths, then put the boys to bed. 

I finished getting readyfor  the trip- highlighting my hair and painting my nails. You know, things I can not do when I have a computer to distract me. The problem: i bought stuff that processes slowly. I did not want to turn on a loud hair drier. So i may retouch later. I am tired. 
I am also simultaneously listening to the Book Of Mormon. I will finish tonight maybe!! 
Steven said I could sleep in tomorrow/today:)

Saturday, March 16, 2013

Tyler's 1st hair cut

Steven has been bugging me to cut Tyler's hair for a while now. Although part of me appreciated when somebody told me that my kid needs a hair cut (since Dylan had a ridiculous long spot of hair on the top of his head that I wish somebody would have asked me to trim), but I also really liked his blonde locks and liked the messy natural surfer baby hairs. 
 When Steven told me that it was in Tyler's eyes, I caved and cut it right then.
 Tyler was okay for a minute, like literally for 60 seconds. I just HAD to go and get the camera. He let me take a picture, but then was wiggly. So we had to get him a "pop." And do a REAL quick job.
 Eh. He's cute. The hairs on the exact back of his head are a bit fried looking still from the rubbing, but at least it's not bald from the rubbing!
 I dislike that one of his words he knows is "pop" for lolipop, but it works! And that's what I give the other kids after THEIR tears from my really long (time wise) hair cuts.


Thursday, July 19, 2012

7-11

It's 7-11
So 7-11 stores give free slurpees! 
I went to pick up my boys from Corrie's and went to the 7-11 there and parked next to the missionaries! They went in to refill their cups with my boys. Tyler had his first sip of a slurpee. I didn't give him much b/c I'd hate to contribute to his first brain freeze! 
 My boys were at Corrie's b/c Malia was with me in the pool. I had a big photo shoot for www.HatsWithHair.com. The owner now has underwater hair pieces for women who have lost their hair. I picked the models b/c I have beautiful friends and would much rather people I know be in my pool than hired models who say they can swim then turn out to be non-swimmer litigious people. The hats are fun, don't you agree?!



Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Kirsten's pool party and my neglect of Isaac

Kirsten had her birthday at our house! 
Our little friend Canon was over for the day. We thought it would be a good opportunity to try to blow up balloons with baking soda and vinegar experiments. It didn't really work. 
 We used markers and made a banner for the birthday girl.
Kirsten's mom was there and the babies were sleeping, so we got to go in the pool and grill hot dogs! 
 At least we got some swim time in, because it started to thunder so we had to go in right after eating.

 We played a long time. Then Kirsten got to eat her cupcakes her dad had decorated.

 Peace!
 She had the kids captivated with her story reading skills.
 She even had them clean the play room!
 I need her every day.
 But let me tell you about this little guy. My Isaac doesn't always do well when I had a lot of people over. He did really well, so I thought. We didn't even have Malia or Noah over. I talked to Marcie in the living room while this little guy went into the bathroom. When we were saying goodbye to Kirsten's family, Isaac came out to say goodbye too. I asked him to come over to me because I wondered if he had somehow parted his hair so his forehead could show. As he got closer, I could not help but laugh!
 He had given himself a full hair cut.
 Long pieces had fluttered down to the bathroom floor.
 I asked where his hair went and he assured me it was all in the trash can. A LOT was. He also told me that he didn't want it to get into his eyes. I'm pretty sure he stole that line from ME because when he doesn't want a hair cut, I tell him that I just want to give him a little trim so it doesn't get in his eyes. In fact, I was quite annoyed with the Super Cuts or Fantastic Sams lady last time. I told her to NOT touch his front hair b/c I had just trimmed it the day before. And what does she do? Cut it bowl cut-like in the middle of his forehead.
 So I took him outside to take his picture. He just stared at me while I grilled him on why and how he cut his hair. He didn't know if he would be in trouble. He wasn't. I had him cal Daddy though.
 To show both the front and the side, I posted this following picture on Facebook. At first glance, it looks like scissors are coming out of his head because he had an itch on his hear I guess. But he cut both sides, the top, the back, layers all over!
 Yes I have mother's guilt for sitting on the couch and not being aware of my kids. Isaac takes matters in his own hand. The night before, Steven found him all decked out with Dylan's bike pads and helmet with a big bike fallen on top of him. The bikes had tipped over when he was trying to get Dylan's bike out - by himself. He was ready to take it for a spin! Who needs parents or training wheels when you have pads I guess.
 Buzzing the rest of it off was sad for all. Steven didn't like cutting his soft hair and Isaac liked the hair the way he had styled it himself.
He went into the pool to wash off.
He looks a lot like Dylan from the back now. I have had to do double takes more than once.
He's so cute with his big white forehead. 

Friday, March 18, 2011

isaac's candids of hair cut day

1/8/2011
The kids hate it when I cut their hair.  Isaac is actually ok, but Dylan hates the hairs sticking to him and how long I take.  So occasionally we'll pay to have them get bad hair cuts.  (I'm not good either, I'm just sayin'.)
 Isaac's shoes,
 waiting,
 self portrait,
 Lifestyles box,
 [not pictured: 78 pictures total including of random other people and products]
Then it was sweet Isaac's turn. 
Then on to the rest of our Saturday of errands.

Thursday, October 7, 2010

my hair (the long version, with tangents - just look at the pics)

After my last botched hair cut and highlights from the hair school, I swore I would do it myself next time. 
So I did.  I was nervous, but I watched a youtube video, which looked like what I had watched in the mirror every time I've had it done in the past.  Instead of wasting more time trying to find a better video, I went to Sally Beauty Supply and asked the lady what to buy.  She picked out two things plus some foils (I don't want the cap), and I decided I needed one of the stiff hair paint brushes too.  And why not get two nail polishes.  I spent less than $20 on those 6 items.  It was less than $10 for the hair stuff! 

Was I on to something,
or would I realize that I get what I pay for. . .

To change the subject for a bit, Dylan has been begging me to make his face look like the face on the left-over Halloween paint from last year.  I accidentally said "after your nap tomorrow," and he remembered.  He was so excited 'til he took a look in the mirror - then he wanted it off before I could get the camera.  Of course I made him take pictures anyway. 
 Malia and Noah wanted some paint too.  They don't look as scary as Dylan.  Isaac said "I want that, but not today."  What a good way to get around peer pressure!  Seriously, Corrie and I were like "everybody is doing it, don't you want some balloons on your cheek or something?"  He did his little tough guy sideways look like he's better than I am with his remark.  I loved it.  He didn't want to partake, and he knew that I probably wouldn't pressure him again. 
 Back to me. 
So, I decided to go ahead and highlight my hair after the boys were in bed.  My patient the day before had told me that she used to highlight her hair all the time.  That gave me all the confidence I needed.  Until on Steven's way to bed when he told me that it was a bad idea.  Should I listen?  Yes, but I already bought the stuff, so I used it. 

Tangent time:
I thought about my T's To Do ToDays list from before and thought about my regret of not having actually written "read the scriptures" on it.  I thought about regretting not running too.  This morning, I woke up happy and relaxed.  I had nothing to do 'til noon, so I went down stairs with a crayon and did a to do list with my boys - picture style.  I drew a picture of notes, a stick figure kneeling in prayer, a big fat open book, a double stroller, a vine with a Tarzan, and papers and crayons.  We planned our morning! 
We started with an opening song, had a prayer, read about Nephi's bow breaking in the scriptures, illustrated it with a board book we have, took pictures of Tarzan on our vine in the back,


[bad lighting, but he didn't want his outfit on when i found the good light later]

shared a huge veggie omlet, Isaac colored on the coffee table, we cleaned that up, then we went running before the crews came over.  I did check my email a little in that time, but what a difference a little reflection/evaluation then planning can do!  My mom used to have "opening exercises" every morning when we were home schooled.  I'd like to incorporate some of that into our lives.  I do it in the car, but not at home.  Anyway, I couldn't believe that I was talking about a to do list that I had just made up on the fly without prioritizing.  So while I started to put foils in my hair, I finished listening to the October conference! I even listened to the RS and priesthood sessions!  It feels good:)  I didn't go to my dental conference for once because of a couple of reasons, one of which was that it overlapped my church conference which is free.  I should make it as much of a priority as as I have always made the dental hygiene conference which is over a hundred dollars (if I want any credits.)  I still feel guilty for not doing it all though. 

Back to me:
I put on my latex gloves I got from a dental rep last year at the convention.  And went to work.  I'm slow, so 45 minutes went by way too fast.  I was going to check after 20 min!  I pulled the foils out of the first side and  washed the individual hairs with water on a wash cloth.  I flipped my hair over and started on the other half.  But then I started thinking - what if the left side is still processing?  I yanked all of the foils out and ran stripping gloves and PJs all the way up the stairs to the shower to try to salvage my hair!  I couldn't wait to dry it to see how it looked.  It was fine!  So I went for round two.  I put more highlights in random places, and noticed only one spill-over area- sadly, near my natural part.  That's the only downfall so far though!  I can say that I did better than that student, and that's what I was going for.  Plus, it was so cheap!  If I don't like the way something is done, I either let it go, or do it myself.  Why didn't I think of this before?  It's good enough for me:)

Two after pics:

I'm sorry if you read all of that.  This IS my journal now days though.
 I hope you just looked at the pics:)